Michigan DHS Complaints & Reviews

Michigan.gov/dhs SnapShot

Last Updated On: June 9, 2016

Michigan DHS Contact Information

Business Name: Michigan Department of Human Services
Corporate Address:
235 S. Grand Ave.
Lansing, Michigan 48909 USA

Customer Service Contacts

Corporate Phone Number: 855-ASK-MICH
Company Contact: Maura D. Corrigan - Director
Corp Website: michigan.gov/dhs

Michigan DHS Ratings

Average Rating: 1.41 out of 5
Based On: 45 Reviews
Number Of Comments: 100

Michigan DHS Reports

Reported Losses: $42,174.99
Average Reported Losses: $937.22

Most Recent Michigan DHS Complaint

Is Michigan DHS a Scam, Rip Off, or Fraud? WARN OTHER CONSUMERS By Sharing

Category: Government Directory ListingMichigan Department of Human Services Listing

Bias, violations of civil rights

I’d awaited a 12:30pm phone interview call 4/1/2016 For my redetermend of FAP. From Mrs. N. Brantley case worker. She normally doesn’t return calls. Neither 4/1/2016 so I’d tried calling her. Leaving her my case no. Etc. To call me back. To discuss my GAP. The catch was. 4/11/2016 FAP, was on their. I’m thinking well, shea, just go ahead, and put it on. She never contacted me. I’m good.

I calls my card on 5/11/2016 like I would every month, before going to the store. Balance was zero. I’d tried calling Brantley, leaving her a message & to contact me back. She did not.

So I called Lansing. Barb told me, My Case Had Been Closed. And said. She couldn’t go to bat for me. Because she’s not showing Anything on file for PAPER WORK. she asked me. How did I, send it in. I told her, I mailed it as normal.

CASE CLOSED.

MDHHS – 5131 Grand River Ave Detroit Michigan | 313-361-7454

Most Recent Michigan DHS Reviews


Consumer Comments For Michigan DHS

  • Dawn T

    My case worker Ms.Banner. at the Taylor Office is a piece of work.I sent my.pay stubs for proof of income before the 31St of last month for my food stamps.For.my phone interview. I waited by my phone on the date and time that was on the letter for it.She never effin called.and she had enough nerve to send me a letter saying I missed the interview. BULL! SHE is effin lazy to pick up the phone to call me like she was supposed to do.why get paid for a jon if she won’t do it.And My food was decrease from $190 to only $24.are. you kidding? You can’t buy food for $24.it won’t last for a month.and she knows my income is only a little over $700 a month after taxes.and my medical through the sTate got cut because of her mistake for not calling me for the phone interview. I didn’t miss it. She didn’t bother to call me. She f****d. Up not me.and it cost. Me my assistance. I will take action against her.I need the number for Lansing.so she loses her Job

  • Lajuanalwayskeepitonehunnit Jo

    I think it is beyond unfair for the State of Michigan to send out overpayment letters after 16 years. Where have these letters been for all this time? Clearly someone did not do their job and it is their negligence why these debts were not taken care of years ago!!! I’m aware the State of Michigan is thirsty and broke, however, it is completely unfair considering that the Treasury Department can only go back 7 years! I paid them 16 years ago and 16 years later I get an overpayment letter with no explanation!

  • Bob

    I watched the help desk lady Ms. Humphrey abused a disabled client I am not sure why security did not step in the woman was verbally assaulted and I saw the lady kick her cane from her and then the worker M Humphrey stated she could pick and choose whom she helped the woman said in a very low tone please treat me with dignity and respect and then ms Humphrey started screaming at her throwing her hands around and stated she would have her thrown out and banned for life and the workers stood and did nothing we were paralyzed by the whole situation and should of helped the woman was crying someone should’ve called the police this is assault and battery I am sorry I did not assist you if you read this I was just as scared Ms Pacilly you should of done something you know its wrong Ms. Cook should of dine something and all the woman did was stand in line and ask for help at the help desk if this had been the other way around Al sharpton would of been here they stick together they lie they gossip they are sickos .The video has been posted 25 times on Youtube some reason DHHS seems to get it removed what are you hiding you abused a disabled vulnerable adult that’s what you all are hiding you all need mental health checks you are public servants and you are mandated to report the abuse even if it was a worker did you ?? probably not

  • Bob

    It’s a game file a formal hearing keep all confirmations feed it through the fax they failed to take advantage of a federal grant and now we are all accountable for the governor falling to take the grant from the federal government Bridge • The Center for MichiganWith state welfare cuts …

    bridgemi.com/…/with-state-welfare-cuts-caseworkers-fear-less-time-to-he…

    Mar 31, 2015 – Statewide, about 3,300 caseworkers handle food stamps and cash … The dip in Michigan welfare cases is attributed to the state’s …. Agency workers lie, file false reports, delay timely filings of clients and … Forms requiring specific information are sent out with a very short … For failing to report that I moved.

  • Debbie

    If there is a lAWYER OUT THERE THAT WILL REPRESENT US IN A CLASS ACTION SUIT AGAINST THE department of ????????? human services yes human services please let us know this is a game 17 times same papers they said all in and then another round threats threats there all friends and buddies and stand up cover the truth this is like a bad soap opera

  • Jason

    Homeless people get 45 dollars to eat with children 70 % of income goes to shelter don’t forget to sign he book you got a cot $16.00 a night vets sleeping on floor this is abuse and has to stop who do we call when abused by a worker HOMELAND SECURITY that’s who read huffington post any worker getting caught reading the articles will be fired that are turning immigrants green visa individuals in and conducting raids so the workers have a new job RATS !!!!!!!

  • Jason

    God help these people there all being abused by a bunch of nasty incompetent workers that gossip sit around kill 1000’s of trees daily and then take it out on clients really who does one call when they are threatened and harassed by these hood rats the hood is more peaceful then the DHs office and there supervisors a joke laughing joke you work in human services hello

  • Jason

    This disabled woman was abused by the help desk worker 64 workers later one worker sent her husband to my home Ms Rump told the woman I can pick and choose who I help and I am gonna have you banned form DHS office 080 as well as do a lot more under her breathe profanity disgusting sick the security guard did not know what to do because the woman asked for help and the worker went ballistic we all filmed it unbelievable and no one help her just sickening and disturbing that a Human Resource worker for the state would do such a thing

  • marc

    It is hard to believe we are being treated like this, and they don’t care, My friend had been filing income tax for over 20 years now, Can’t get insurance so when he filled out the form on the Net for Healthy Plan it referred him to the DHS, and said he was eligible for Healthy Michigan plan which he was on for the past year, Now this year they want all the income tax forms which he brought down there and He does not have A Stupid Schdule C Form He Does not file one being a Self employed individual. it seems like there are trying to get you to just say F*&K it and pay the fine it seems logical it is easier for them they don’t have to do any paper work, and receive a payment to someone whom Can afford insurance on there own. What is this state coming to it was suppose to be easy but its far from easy matter of fact its so frustrating they can’t handle it anymore and said there done with it and will pay a fine and Not be covered by insurance, Hummm don’t make much sense to my, you get fined and don’t receive any assistance at all. Now can someone tell me how that is a fair system. I really think they got it wrong and because of it we are all going to pay for that, Which we can’t afford anyways I can only say it is a nightmare and the workers in Michigan are very Rude make you feel like your doing something wrong, In which this person has never even Jay walked, but yet he is being penalized, they just keep wanting more and more info on s**t them means nothing. We need to figure out what we can really do. I know some of you out here would love to have that job and at least Treat People with some respect. instead of treating them like a criminal. This is a travesty for all involved this health care plan is going to ruin the way it should be done, everyone is going to be affraid when its offered up in the why it should be with no hassles,
    I would like to ask another Question too.
    Why does everyone that works for the County Building treat everyone with such Disrespect ?
    Why is it when you worked for your whole life when you need help you get a run around ?
    Why is it when you try and work and not sit home on your butt and make a small amount of money do they cut you off ?
    How many People that work for our government need Health Care Assistance ?
    How many of them People go thru the Same S**t we do ?
    and One more question
    Do you think the People that are in these situations should be doing what the DHS EMPLOYEES Are doing? Put them Idiots out of a job because it sure sounds like these Poor folks here could do there job and be happy they have a job, Unlike the IDIOTS that are there now.
    Peace out People God Bless All of You and I hope he answers all your problems with a great solution to help all of us on this planet.
    IMHO I think the money is the Problem, does anyone think if we stopped getting money the world would really stop or collapse, I think everyone would do there part, If everyone knew they could go to the store and feed there family and not have to worry about BILLS Money or everything else and be able to live without the Stress We have Created with this money and Greed. It would be the way to actually live in a world where we could let the oceans replenish, without the fisherman saying I can’t quit fishing i need to feed my family, Same goes with everything extinct animals and all that if we didn’t need money the world would then Depend on Solar, Water, and wind, Money The Root of all Evil. maybe Star Trek has it right, there is no need for Money it was the Cause of the Worlds Problems. A small Example. If We Started really Recycling everything in the year 1990, Every Woman and Man born after that Year would only Know that so it would be strange they didn’t Recycle, it would be the Norm to put everything into the right bin. Just a small example. we really need Huge one that make the world a better place. we keep saying We need to do this that and the other thing, But we never seem to do it, Because the People that have all the money would be equal to us and we would all be equal and guess what then, The World Starts to Heal and the People start to understand We can Live on this Planet we all Own and take care off. God Bless

  • Nicole

    I just had the same thing happen to us, new worker, asking for specific paper work in three days, I called with a message asking for a three day extension with no response, I then did get a rejection letter in the mail but stating I could get everything in by the end of the month 10/31/15 and it was all in by 10/20/15 and I received nothing, I even called the 888 # to check up on your case and it stated it was active but the day by bridge was supposed to be ready at 12:00am it stated it was closed?? I cried my freakn eyes out. I called that worker in Sterling Hts. 5 times with no response. She got everything. Worse part. Small print, we had 10 days to appeal, how do you appeal if you thought everything was fine?

  • Rubywhiz

    Recently, I had a case worker and it was time to renew benefits. I sent in all my paperwork and received a letter I was approved. It even states this online. Then a few weeks after, I receive a letter from a new case worker stating they needed my income information. This was Oct. 8 and they wanted paperwork by Oct. 12th. I called and left a message the 8th, 9th and 10th. The 11th was a weekend. No call back.
    I just received a letter stating I am denied because I did not hand in my paperwork!!!! So I get a new case worker, and have to send in all my information again, even though a few weeks before with my old case worker I was accepted???
    So I called again and left a message but no return call. Next step, supervisor and after that Lansing.

  • Robert Hunt

    I have sent them the info about my bank accounts like 6 times and they keep saying I never sent it I went as far to drive there in person and hand it to my case worker she is like this total nitwit oh and then they wanted access to my accounts for over 10 years
    not to mention I have been reviewed 30 times in the last year. Never dealt with some one as stupid as my case worker in my life. I am permanently disabled why am I getting reviewed every week.

  • Amy Lotscher

    I gave all my required documents to my caseworker for my redetermination case and I was approved, so she leaves yet again until next week. I don’t have foodstamps now and we are hungry! I have to get a hold of my bank now that is in Alaska to tell DHS that my checking account closed last year! I am so done with Baraga County DHS, she could have at least told me she was leaving or that the paper work wasn’t good enough for her! I have tried to get a differnt caseworker because there is a major conflict of interest with her! I just want to feed my 13 year, I could starve!

    • Mike

      Have you thought of moving to a town besides Baraga where you might be able to get a job and feed your child yourself?

      • Zak

        you can also tell the government workers to get off their…..righteous …. oh I forgot they are protected by UAW . Go government workers!

  • elissa

    hi..you wanna know something..i had this same problem with getting cut off the insurance and stuff to but i called and emailed the senator and if you have kids shes awesome she helped me out more then anyone these days and to be honest shes helping me again because i am having another issue with dhs so contacting the senator may be a wise choice and a good start or even a lawyer through legal aid like i got sometime they are free depending on your income if it wasnt for the lawyer i got and stabenow i dont know what id do. but good luck to you and your family!!

    • Keyla Sanchez

      hi, how can i contact the senator?? my story is different but the main problem is dhs lost 2 applicacions and by the time they prossesed my 3rd app it was about 4 months in. i have over $1400 medical bill for my daugther because they cut off her insurance and didnt notify me (reason for submitting new apps during the 4 months) well long story short if they had prossesed the applications they lost since the first time medicaid could of payed for the medical expenses.. she had me fill out a “retro” app so medicaid would pay but its been a whole year now and 2 retro apps i havent had no answere and im in colletions. And did i mention she never calls me and the day i went in she said i had no bussines going in without an appointment..

  • elissa

    hi i have been trying to contact my worker at dhs for awhile about my case as i have 2 children myself and everytime i call the mail boxes are full and cant leave a message or heres my fav..they answer at dhs ask u your case number and say theyll call you back in just a few minutes and here it is three hours later and no call back and when i went to try and call them back i just get the full vmail again..pssshhh!! rediculous!! and this isnt the first time ive had issues w my worker or dhs ive actually had to call and email the senator just to get the right help i needed because half these worker or atleast the ones ive dealt with dont do their jobs or they are half a**ing it if you know what i mean..man what does a mother have to do to feed her babies!! if anyone can help me out or has advice id appreciate it much.thank you

    • ddolsc

      Bottom of the line who do you call to tell these case worker are unhappy with they job ? Cause no one will give u that number I’m talking about someone who handle these ppl I’m about to start an Online petition On letting these worker go who can’t keep up with they jobs…excuses are tools of incompetence

      • AloneOneOnO

        An online petition is an excellent idea! –But to whom would we address it? Michigan’s governor is a Republican. Republican party hopes to discontinue Medicaid and “trim” costs of helping the poor. Allowing him to manage and reorganize DHS supports a conflict of interest for him. He is responsible for the decision to employ too few caseworkers (and caseworkers who are too incompetent generally) to meet the needs of the people.

    • Mike

      You could try getting a job to feed your babies

  • Diera

    i been calling the dhs worker so I can get my first month rent and or deposit but nothing never happen I been asking for ths for 5 years now im homless with two babies it hurts when we all know they suspose hep us women with kids I called all the shelters in Detroit in a round the around now can someone please tell me what to do how to go about the hole thing

    • Debbie

      I am in the same situation denied SER shelters all fll from people around the world tried the shelter signed over POA to my son for my child The shelter not geared towards disabled people the way they do our veterans pitiful I was told by a supervisor I would not ever be in this position there was a special fund and she was promoted form APS in which my land lady held a 22 to my child and demanded a ride her and her just released heroin addict son to get more booze I did not ever have a day of peaceful enjoyment of property from this crazy woman they all lied and scammed at DHS and a simple problem has turned into a complicated mess they workers gossip failed to report mandatory abuse failed to file charges against my loony alcoholic landlady from hell and failed …..mistakes mistakes mistakes I let them know when I entered the shelter without children and when I left and now no food no nothing the workers cover each others mistakes and gossip 56 workers and counting 2 years believe me the hearings 15 plus have not done a thing the judges always side with DHS or MSHDA we need to get a lawsuit together against the DHS DEpartment

  • Ron

    Walled Lake office merged with Southfield and is now located in Southfield.. I applied back on Dec. 27th and got denied by D. Brydie whom took a vacation and then came back 2 days before the 30 Day expired on his request for verification of employment. I called him twice and left messages on his machine which incidentally, he confirms that he won’t be back until the 5th of January.. I completed my application online as I always do, and D. Brydie denied my application stating that I did not submit all the information requested. Never once did I ever have a direct conversation through the whole process with D. Brydie, and never once did he call me back. So I called my prior caseworker L. Hunter and left a voice message. L. Hunter called me back within a matter of minutes. She pulled up my application and stated that she does not know why my case was rejected and that all the information is there. L Hunter is not even my case worker, she filed for a hearing for me and advised me to Immediately start a new application. So I did exactly that. I received a letter requesting me to appear at a pre-conference between myself, D. Brydie, and his supervisor Mr. Robinson. Well I got there 10 minutes early, had to wait in the lobby for almost an hour. Then finally Mr. Robinson calls me into a conference room. Guess who didn’t show up? D Brydie the same guy that likes to not do his job! So his supervisor tells me that he should have requested proof of income for 3 month’s not for 1 month. And took copies of my income and I am awaiting a hearing schedule for Feb 19th. In the meantime I have started my new application as of January 2nd and they gave me emergency funds 186.00 for family of 3 which is not nearly enough to survive off. Today February 13, case again gets denied stating that I failed to provide them with proof of income statement. I uploaded and submitted all requested documents and my new caseworker S. Shumpert tells me that she has Mr. Brydies information mixed in with my information and that she does not know why she got my case, that it should have gone back to Mr. Brydie.. Makes absolutely no sense to me.. Meantime I have had to go to the local community center for help, as well as the local church to keep my family from starving!!! I hope that these workers sleep well at night and have plenty of food!!! No man, woman or child in this country should have to suffer!!!

  • J Dee

    It’s interesting that most of your complaints are about phone calls. In wayne county there are workers in the lobby, at least 2 that can review cases, change addresses and make simple changes. They can also answer basic questions. They can even make appointments if they can’t resolve the issue. I don’t know why anyone would keep calling week after week. Maybe the worker is on sick leave….IJS! And if all else fails, file a hearing. But to do nothing else except call isn’t going to change anything

  • Jacqui Scherle

    I recently found a website that gives caseworkers emails. Maybe if I blow up their phone and their email I will get a response….not to mention complaining to the District Manager and County Director. Ill keep contacting EVERYONE until I get some d**n answers!!

    http://www.state.mi.us/dit/directory.aspx

  • realitybites1960

    So how many of you are having babies that you cannot afford and have no mans’ to help? I realize that there are problems with this system and I am experienceing them myself for my daughter. But she is special needs. She is not a grown person who is having kid after kid out of wedlock, is too fat to work, has using drugs to the point of becoming unable to work, or an alchoholic who lived it up and now wants help. Seems like if all of you got your crap together there wouldnt be this mess.

    • Mister concerned

      your generalization of people on aid is uncalled for…there are people with jobs who are trying to live their lives without state aid, but do still require help. If you took the time to read some of the complaints, you will find that they are mostly about people depending on this aid and the system not caring about their situations. No one wants to depend on them…the majority would rather make a decent wage and not need the aid…but the reality is that this day in age, it is hard even for a single person with no kids to survive. I work, go to school and make enough money not to need food stamps…but I cant afford health care. My daughters case was cancelled because according to them she is over the age of 22…if that’s true then I would have been 10 years old when I had her. Its situations like these that drive people crazy. Anyway, I know there are people out there that abuse the system for their benefits, but understand that there are people with legitimate claims and problems with this state department.

    • Sandy Schermerhorn

      It’s comments such as what you’ve made here that are part of the problem. I’m sorry you’re having problems, but most of us here are in one way or the other, there is no need to paint everyone the same dark color, because we are all not the same. It all boils down to the department not doing the jobs they were given and being paid for. My kids are grown however I’m disabled and am having a hard time making ends meet, I don’t want to abuse the system, but I don’t want to be abused by the system either…I don’t want so much so I can go and get an expensive car, a beater with a heater would be ok however I’m not even trying to get a vechile which I could really use. I don’t want to get so much that I don’t have to put cash in with the food stamps just so I can get that pair of Jimmy Choo shoes or knock offs….I’m lucky to have the clothes that are on my back and that I’ve had for years, I don’t go out and waste money just to than ask for food stamps I just want to be able to live…oh yes and by the way yes I’m fat but not to fat too work…I’m disabled and have a problem with walking, or standing also have a back problem that’s not just because of the weight…so stop seeing everyone as all the same because there are all different issues here and people do need some help sometime

  • dickyhead

    So my friend on Blue Cross ins says heck our doctor sends us places we don’t even need to go just to double check things out a little bit..? Do you feel like a 4th class citizen yet? Just move into west mich around the lakeshore area and get your assistance and bend over cause there waiting !!! to help bend you over of course!!!

  • Miss Barbara

    Okay, so I filed for cash assistance in April of 2014 and as of today October 9, 2014, I still haven’t gotten any cash despite the fact that I won a favorable decision against the Department in a hearing of the worker not following department rules. They won’t accept the medical paperwork dated back then by a psychiatrist stating I cannot work because it has not been within the past 30 days, so they made me participate in their PATH program even though I told them I don’t need anyone to show me how to get a job because I quit my last job due to medical issues that does not allow me to work and that I have filed disability. And I completed that and still haven’t received my cash assistance because my worker says she has to send a ticket to Lansing and it will probably be a while before they get to it, but she called me on October 6, 2014 to tell me that the money I received last December, 2013 will be deducted from my cash back assistance. I think they are wrong because I believe if they were so concerned with that money I received, they should’ve taken it out of my food stamps throughout the year.Are they a piece of work or what?

    • ddolsc

      Mrs.deb b4 u get a job they gave u a job description In that interview everyone act like they can take on th em 800-1000 cases like u said its paperless put in the system it going to do the math y’all just full of hate and laze ppl who need to be fired you r supposed to work for the ppl not Against them Lansing Need to kno how y’all workers feel I bet y’all don’t speak up and tell them …..so y’all can end up jobless

  • Mrs. Deb

    IF IT WILL MAKE EVERYONE HAPPY…DHS IS GOING PAPERLESS SO THERE WILL BE NO MORE PAPERWORK GETTING LOSS. IF YOU FAX IN IT WILL GO TO A LANSING FAX# AND THEN BE UPLOADED ELECTRONICALLY.WHEN YOU DROP OFF IT WILL BE SCANNED AND UPLOADED ELECTRONICALLY. WORKERS WILL NO LONGER RECEIVE ANY PAPER. SOME OFFICES HAVE ALREADY STARTED THE PROCESS. OH AND HOW DO I KNOW THIS? i AM A DHS EMPLOYEE, NOT A CASEWORKER THOUGH.

    BUT I WILL SAY THIS, EVERYONE IS ALWAYS COMPLAINING ABOUT LAZY WORKERS BUT NO ONE NEVER CALLS OR WRITES LANSING TO ASK WHY WORKERS HAVE OVER 800-1000 CASES EACH. DO YOU REALLY THINK YOU WILL BE TREATED IN A TIMELY MANNER WITH THAT KIND OF DEMAND? LAZY……ARE YOU KIDDNG ME? YOU CAN’T WORK FOR ANY GOVERNMENT AGENCY AND BE LAZY…IT JUST DOESN’T HAPPEN. THE PROBLEM ISN’T LAZINESS ITS MIS-MANAGEMENT. PEOPLE TRANSFER, RETIRE GO ON MEDICAL AND ARE NEVER REPLACED. THE DEMAND IS GROWING DAILY. THEY WONT SPEND AN EXTRA DIME BUT EXPECT THE SAME WORK PERFORMANCE AND ALL THE DAILY DEMANDS TO BE MET…..REALLY!

    BUT YOU GUYS KEEPS WHINING AND BLAMNG WORKERS….WHO ARE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE FOOD CHAIN AND HAVE NO POWER…..IJS!

    • Crystal

      I want to complain about these workers not handling cases in a better way, but there is no other telephone available to Us. The phone calls is passed from caseworker to manager then back to caseworker. So please assist me in who do I contact to complain about Detroit DHS caseworker.

      • J Dee

        Crystal, Ms. Deb is correct. I am a former DHS employee. Have you tried to go in the office and make an appointment? There are also workers in the lobby in all Detroit offices that can possibly help or at least make an appointment with your worker. And if you must complain …do it in writing

        • Asublimed

          Or when you send official documents to call your caseworker by a certain date and they don’t answer… That’s their fault. No excuses.

  • Xavier McHenry

    I have a severely autistic boy and I just myself just got out of the ICU at Cadillac Mercy for a heart condition. My worker, Pie Medina, lost my paperwork. I was in contact with her for 2 months after she lost it, (it was my redetermination paperwork), and said nothing about losing it over those 2 months until I was in the ICU when she told me she lost the paperwork and I would have to get it into her by the 7th of July or lose my benefits. I got out of the hospital and forced myself to get everything done…mind you this is after being in the ICU for heart problems…and got it to them in the early AM on the 7th. On the 8th Medina calls me and tells me I lost all my benefits.

    So I go in to fill out a new app and complain to her supervisor. I tell her supervisor how Median screwed me and she smirks the entire time. She hold up the folder and says “The paperwork requested isn’t in here. So it’s your fault.” My fault that the worker didn’t put her paperwork where it should be.

    I was insulted by this “supervisor,” belittled by her and told that my kids didn’t matter to the DHS. If they died over this, she would lose any sleep over it.

    I am a writer and I will be adding this and anyone’s story on here I find relevant and I am making a public case about this. I will then send the article to Grand Rapids and several other places meant to watchdog these cruel excuses for human beings. Their inability to do their job should not cost families their livelihoods.

    • Jeremy Ellwood

      Did you write? I would like to see it and if you didn’t yet, add my story to it if you would (will be under Complaints). Michigan DHS is a joke… and not a funny one as it’s a joke at the expense of our lives. They are in the process of making me (with R.A) and my girlfriend (with M.S.) starve as they just reduced our food assistance down to $165 a month… for 2 people… with the only income being her $600 a month disability.
      Won’t answer phone.
      Won’t return a call.
      Refuses to call for my phone interview every 6 months and then marks me as not being present.
      Genesee County DHS McCree District

  • P.R.

    I have been trying to get ahold of my daughter’s caseworker for 3 weeks. Her phone messages are full and you cannot get anyone to pick up on the main line. This is WRONG. If anyone of authority sees this…please talk to your staff and make sure the calls get answered.

  • bassettbarbara

    WHY DID YOU DELETE MY COMMENT?????????

  • Victim of DHS

    You can add C Steverson of the Sterling Heights office to the list of rude, lazy, and obnoxious caseworkers. I know of two people she has hurt. One of them being extremely ill with a heart condition. She has made him jump through every hoop just to deny him. Even had a doctors office call her direct and that person stated Steverson was the rudest person she has ever talked to. She has drug off this case so long, that every thing is expiring, he is in dire need of life saving surgery and after months of going around in circles, still are right we started. And the other person I know that got stuck with this woman had a reduction in income. Not only did she not decrease this persons income, she increased it and reduced benefits. This woman needs to be removed from her job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If these people can’t handle the job they are doing, then they shouldn’t be doing it.

    • tvarga

      Everyone needs to contact the civil rights union!!!!!!!!!!

    • Debbie

      they don’t care if have health issues they don’t care and they think we sit on our butts doing nothing you have to have a masters degree for the new paperwork they act like its comes out of their pockets I am sick of it we all need to protest them an also get respite services for them

  • Saying It. Asitis

    You poor poor entitled people. Loose the cell phones, cable and consider the fact that there is so many of you wanting more and more that "they" don’t have the time to please you all. Plant some seeds and cut back on the I wants and you may get ahead. If you all spent your time looking for jobs instead of bleeding out your hearts here then…well hmm you probably wouldn’t need assistance. If that’s not the cause, then you should have tried harder in high school.

    • I agree with u to a certain point..i have been working since the age of 9 was a single parent etc…lived like i was supposed to struggled never asked for help..i am now injured herniated disc could handle if it wasnt bulging into my spine went through dhs cuz i work low income jobs no insurance and not enough pay to get any..i was told by a doctor to go through DEPARTMENT OF INHUMANE SERVICES..the ppl are rude lazy dont except responsibility for their actions etc…there are ppl on there who are taking advantage of it and really screwin it up for the rest of us…i cannot feel either of my feet or legs it would have been a simple fix last year when i was finally hospitalized for it waiting on a simple return phone call from my hospital bed..nothing had to discharge me with a shot and wait…i got a call from her about 3 weeks after i was discharged and o she didnt know what happened but my case was put on hold for no reason she could find..well now a year later the simple fix isnt so simple anymore,,i wanted help to get back on my feet and back to the job i had up until a month ago when i couldnt micromanage from the side of my bed anymore…ive lost weight spent any money i had saved and borrowed thinkin i was goin back to work soon to pay it back…all stories are not the same…ive cut mu cable but have to keep my cheap metro pcs phone for doctors calls and maybe a call from my case worker who i havent heard from in months now…please b careful what ur sayin i dont think my daughter would agree with you on your comment…have a great day

    • widowmom

      Apparently you are the entitled one. Entitled to proclaim judgement on others you do know or have any compassion for. Your lack of empathy for those that struggle is troubling and far too common these days. Do you spend your days seeking out websites to exorcise your apparent frustration on those less fortunate than yourself? Does doing that make you feel better about yourself? Would you for one minute like to experience what the people you judge go through in a day? If you have nothing helpful or constructive to contribute here, then just take your ridiculously impotent talking points to a militant right wing website where you’ll find a circle jerk waiting.

    • bassettbarbara

      You rich rich privileged person among your greedy people. Loose the attitude and give back what your people stole. Give up your $18 to $40 an hour job that you acquired with a high school diploma, and from a relative of your people,. Stop uprooting our seeds and bend your lazy back to pick your own cotton! Furthermore, I guarantee I can do your job, Asitis, (that name don’t even sound like an american) on the land I WAS BORN ON. If that’s not the case, then you should stop assuming you "worked harder to get a job or worked harder in high school."

      • Murphys Happycockers

        Wonder what’s harder? Picking cotton or cucumbers? Lol I know I, weighed inGPA a whopping 55 pounds when Istarted in the fields!!! One summer picked to help my family buy a refrigerator! None the less , was never a stranger to hard work! Got out and went 1500 miles away from home, got . A job, slept in a closet for nearly 6 months, saved every penny, bought a van, kept working 7 days a week until the day I opened my own business and went back to school. The business supported me and kids, paid tuition and finally graduated 4.0 GPA engineer! Even then things were not real fair as my qualifications were better then colleagues but still my pay was far less. Why? Cause I’m a white girl!!! Even then 4 foot 9 inches, 120 pounds soak an wet! So please, complain if you will but don’t play the race card! Up next? Are there any Jewish or Indians with a huge sense of entitlement? :-)

    • Xavier McHenry

      Guess what, buddy? I was like you. I had money and expensive toys and it all came tumbling down. In my case I had an autistic kid who had violent fits so bad I couldn’t work. I had to stay home with him. Then, to get assistance, I had to let all my savings get raped out from me and put into their bank accounts…or he wouldn’t get the medical assistance he needed. From there is was “How can we screw over your lives so we can make rich people laugh?”

      There will soon come a time where the rich will be mass murdered in the street for their hate and inhumanity. I’m going to sit back with popcorn and laugh while your kind suffers.

    • Dee Dee

      Really???? who are you to judge? Well, I have indeed cut my cable long ago. Do without our phone? So then if there is an emergency, oh well !!! (I guess in your eyes we aren’t of any WORTH) Thank God my children put me on their phone plan so I am covered in an emergency. I have worked for many years and paid into the system. I’m now in between a rock and a hard place. In 2 months I’ll be 61, still can’t collect s.s. and finding it hard to get hired b/c of age. As for “planting some seeds” Let me see YOU feed your sorry self on the things you grew from seeds and maybe I’ll give it a try. You ought to be ashamed of yourself!

      • Murphys Happycockers

        Dee, sweetly I think the PUNK was actually referring to religious seeds although with that judging I can’t imagine him beingChristian??? Dee, wish you Blessings. Like you, I’m 57 ,forced early retirement as an electronic engineer after getting crushed by an industrial door. . But God forbid we ask for help in THIS state! I’d leave but DHS an P.A fixed that to soI can’t!

    • Murphys Happycockers

      Look here PUNK!! I’ve worked hard ALL my life! Raised kids,sent them to college and now I’m old and raising a grandson!! I’ve DONE my time! I’m ill, going blind and in need of a great deal of medical care. Still was not asking for hand outs! BUT WHAT THESE IDIOTS are doing is placing holds on my EARNED retirement benefits in an attempt to FORCE me to sue my daughter for child support just because I applied for medical insurance for my grandson!! They then attempted to interrupt my insurance and with all the time having to answer to them in courthouse, DHS office and jumping hoops I’ve had to cancel much neededmedical procedures! They have LIED, cheated, denied me an Appeal, misinformed me and even claimed to know Texas food stamp laws ( I’ve found they don’t know mich well enough yet much less) and WHY??? They, are in it to kill??? Do away with sick, old and needy? Nasty bunch! One Thing I know for sure is its NOT like this in other states! Other places DHS workers actually try to help! Never have I saw, read and looked at so many web sites laying claims of doing so much and helping so many with large government grants that actually are doing nothing more then bragging and creating jobs for themselves and doing NOTHING to fulfil their claims!!! Useless to the poor!!

  • Pammie

    I’m a single mom and for six years I provided for me and my two boys by working construction (tiling mostly). I’m far from lazy but I’ve been dealing with some health issues and severe depression dealing with health issues. I have raynaud’s syndrome and SEVERE case. I deal with pain like you would not think possible in my hands, painful swelling and cramping, ulcers that open up and ooze, red white and blue hands and feet. I’ve have even gone to the ER and told the doctor I was scared I was going to lose my finger and he said he was scared of that too. Do you know the feeling of someone telling you that you may lose a body part? I could barely wash my hair and I cried thinking about washing the dishes. It’s been more then rough…I can’t hold a job and I have to deal with not being able to do the things people take for granted like using their hands. My boyfriend and family help me out but they can’t keep supporting me. Because doctors don’t know much about raynauds and there’s no cure and really nothing they know to help it. I’ve tried everything on my own, I changed the way I eat, vitamins, exercise and herbal remedies (and I’m not talking pot). It’s better but I still deal with red, white purple fingers, swelling, extreme pain, and ulcers. You tell me a job I can do without using my hands, you tell me how I can deal with this without going to a doctor, or even get disability (that I don’t want because I want to work) and you tell me how I can deal with this without help. My caseworker has made her comments about I need to get a job and I’ve used the system too long. I have no insurance right now…I’m thankful that my kids do. I call my case worker and no call back. I get nothing in the mail. I fill out the DHS app again. I have no job and I qualify but still I have no insurance. I don’t want to need the help but I need it. I don’t to be on it forever and I have hope since researching that rheumatologist could help me but I can’t go.

  • info

    DHS = Department Of Human Suffering," it’s not just for losers anymore " were all gonna be in the same boat….watch! did you know it’s not DHS, Department of Human Services, it’s Department of HomLnd Scurity….:::chew on that for a while:::

  • Dept.HumanSuffering

    Ours is a nightmare of a story and not enough room here to explain but the short version is…Try this one on for size, you appeal a decision, go to court, WIN, and DHS doesn’t think they have to listen to the judge :/ our caseworker….who sleeps WELL at night im sure, (N. BROWN) from mcCree district in Flint michigan, says, I didn’t get that letter lmao are you serious! So we have the civil justice department taking care of her discriminatory issues presently. They cant believe the audacity either! so we go back to court AGAIN to fix everything that should have been taken care of months ago per their own POLICIES they dont seem to know anything about…."SDA, WHAT’S THAT?" She says, across the table at court as if she doesn’t know what state disability assistance is OR the protocol that follows? Please! our family is suffering without choice and we just love eaking our way through life, being a loser not by choice is SO MUCH more fun and rewarding than having a phuckin job right? Insulting how were treated, my husband used to make upwards of $2,000 a week…that’s a caseworkers "wet dream" of an income…I doubt very highly theyve seen that kind of income and HE HAS JOBS WAITING FOR HIM BUT HES DISABLED YOU A******S WHO JUDGE US!!! anyways, God bless all of you who are suffering! If you need help, civil justice department is an advocate for the poor who stand up for your rights in this and other particular situations so call em! 810-244-8044 GOD SPEED! You’ll need it! :)

    • I hear you i have the same situation goin on through DEPARTMENT OF INHUMANE SERVICES IN INKSTER MI…i feel for ya and wish you all well…im waiting now a month on a date time and place for my appeal…gonna b homeless soon…had a job but like you guys they couldnt wait for me any longer (waited almost a year) been passed back and forth between two woman who are rude and should not be working in the position they have..even called LANSING and messaged them and heard all kinds of excuses and sat on hold for 36 minutes only then to get transferred into another person tryin to put in a complaint…thats when i messaged them and they messgaed back that that is an ongoing problem with their phone system i said i thought maybe it was an ongoing problem with the humans that have lost site of what life is really about and only think about their little bubble…All Government Agencies need to get their acts together…i now have permanent damage done because these workers have nothin but excuses bout why they can not perform their job duties properly like the simplest answering a phone…never get through to case workers their voicemails are full all the time…very professional…..ok enough ranting lol…have a great day and good luck

    • Dee Dee

      Thank you for sharing the civil justice dept. number. Even though you posted this 6 months ago, I am reading this today and may very probably need it. I am being screwed around by my DHS dept., I have already been approved for assistance with medical insurance, but afterwards they send me a notice saying they need my social security # (which I had already given them in original app.) So they received it a 2nd. time. Few weeks later I get MORE mailings from them, this time they want proof of citizenship by a certain date or they will cancel my assistance. (I am in their system, they already have it) To make matters worse, in the paperwork there are 2 different address’ to return the documents to, and 2 different fax numbers. It seems no matter what I do, how hard I try…..I lose.

    • Jeremy Ellwood

      Thank you for that number.
      I will be using it tomorrow.
      I am in the same district and had similar issues with K. Orr and now they are decreasing our food even more (dropping us to $165/mo for two people) for no justifiable reason.

    • Kyley

      Thank you I have been abused long enough and these workers need to answer to someone they are playing Satan!!!

  • Dep of Humn Sufring

    I dont think these so called caseworkers are even human! How could you be? I’ve been applying for help with cash(never have done this) but needed to, since JUNE and it’s January now :/ I literally have their stupid application memorized because of the denial letters that pour in each time we have HOPE in a new application for SDA(State Disability Assistance) NOT FIP which is the 1st step in the cash application for needy families. I HAVE GIVEN EVERY PROOF NEEDED AND REQUESTED of my husbands disabilities…our caseworker(N. BROWN) at the mcCree district in Genesee county Flint, MI keeps forcing us to apply for FIP which we arent eligible for as a result of not having the ability to attend their RETARDED PATH Program where you go to "apply yourself" for a job ect….I WISH I COULD but CANT! I’m registered with the STATE themselves as my husbands caregiver for terrible disabilities in which im needed around the clock, not to mention my little girl with autism. So obviously we cant make it through your stupid hoops…WE APPEALED the latest decision letter in total frustration not knowing if we would even be able to make it to the court hearing to vent all the crap we’ve been through…Across the table at the hearing was a very INCOMPETENT "case worker" who claimed to know NOTHING about SDA which btw they have to give you if you claim a disability(WHICH WE HAVE) because they’re not doctors to say you dont…they have to DEFER you from their program for FIP until doctors letters called "medical needs" forms are filled out which we gave them COPIES of THANK GOD because they always want originals…they never give them back so I made copies of what they have already had for months now….but she sat there and acted like she knew nothing of the SDA program which was a total fabrication. So anyways WE WON OUR HEARING that day just barely too not because we didn’t have a slam dunk case but when we went out to the car to leave for our court date we had a flat tire and had to find a ride in 15 minutes(many perks of being totally broke with no help)-luckily by the grace of God we did find a ride and they werent happy to lend their help either….anyways, we won the case and received an award letter from the magistrate ordering DHS to begin suppliments immediately as well as any back pay owed to us as a result of having given them every proof they asked for BEFORE THEY EVEN ASKED and denying us wrongfully…they had to do all this within 10DAYS of the mailing date of this letter which was on the 14th of january so we watched the clock every night at midnight praying our funds would come(was supposed to show on my birthdate btw-never showed)…its been 15 days now and we just got our letters from DHS yesterday as if we newly applied for cash again :/ all the same crap, "we need medical needs forms, proof of this, proof of that" WHICH WE ALREADY GAVE that they are to use retroactive to complete our case….we called N. Brown our wonderful caseworker and she says, "I never got the letter from the judge stating we had to give you anything, and the letters you recieved are from someone else(even tho her name is all over the paper work and is not denying shes still our worker…im amazed she even answered the dam phone usually she doesn’t, oops this time she did) so she doesn’t know what were talking about" all with a horrible discriminative attitude while we sit here and suffer! Some Miss Davis person sent those she says, who ever that is!?;who doesn’t answer the phone either!! Also, they want proof of our OLDEST daughters disability which we never stated she had a disability and how the hell are we supposed to supply that medical needs form that isnt needed or required.????? SO W E HAVE THE CIVIL JUSTICE DEPARTMENT in our back pocket and did prior to our hearing but since DHS drug their feet about sending us our hearing date, our attorney couldnt be there with us as we only had 2 days during the holiday seasons ironically enough and couldnt prove that we recieved their information only two days before the hearing because ODDLY AND IRONICALLY enough their letter doesn’t have a date stamp from the post office on it for us to claim that was true. hmmm? wonder if the states working with the post office too now? So anyways, this is our story and theres so much more I could say in between as to what a horrible nightmare this has been but in a nutshell….civil justice has been contacted and they said we have a clear discrimination case) because they were supposed to follow judges orders…..SO BE PREPARED PEOPLE….DHS now, doesn’t even have to obey by their OWN RULES OR A JUDGES ORDER ANYMORE!!! It’s all set up to starve us out!! I’m sure our "caseworkers" are PAID MORE to NOT HELP!!!!!!!!!!! Convinced! But to those who NEED TO KNOW THERE IS HELP! CALL THE CIVIL JUSTICE DEPARTMENT AND TELL YOUR STORY IMMEDIATELY! their number is 810-244-8044 they can help….May GOD BLESS YOU ALL WITH NEW STRENGTH AND HOPE EVERY DAY TO BATTLE THESE BIASED, INSATIABLE< INCOMPETENT who call themselves human beings who help the poor! THEY HAVE IT TWISTED, WE ARE THE REASON THEY HAVE A CUSHY JOB IN THE FIRST F****N PLACE>>>>they should be thanking us, not phucking us!! But, what goes around comes around, one day they’ll NEED ! God bless you all!

  • just trying to live

    I am almost fifty years old and having to apply for food assistance for first time in my life due to car accident. I have applied and have phone interview on monday and hope to get good news. I am horrified by what i call the abuses of these agencys and there seems to be no accountability for people working in these state and government jobs. Michigan has a severe problem economically from which we will probably never recover and unfortunatley an awful lot of families have suffered for it. I say we the people for the people stick together.prime example is in kiev ukraine right now. people had enough of of bad government and policeys. just food for thought.

  • nana

    Umm..just saying..don’t the same group of gov assistance and programs supposed to aide abused children..well from what I am reading they are abusing our children..if they deny feeding them then they are just as guilty of abuse..keep fighting and I pray our children eat today..

    • HGBald

      Thank you- Bless your heart. I did report the incident to this person’s supervisor and he told me to file a complaint against a worker form. I had enough of her and their forms to last me a lifetime.
      We are doing well and getting by- We are fortunate to have some type of employment- I pray for those that have nothing- My husband is very near a great full time job- our lives will change and once we are completely back up on our feet, I will make it my life’s mission to hold every DHS caseworker in Michigan accountable for their actions. Maybe I will start a website myself where people can vent and we can expose the abuse of Federal, State, and tax payer’s dollars.
      God Bless all of you struggling with these inhumane people called "case workers" I know I am sure there are a few good true Social Worker’s out there- Please come forth and show yourselves-

  • Dee Dee

    The DHS office in Warren, Michigan is horrible. I have MS. I am now considered disabled. My case worker is Ms Kahill. Never calls me back if I am able to leave a message. Usually her voice mail is full. I hand deliver all my paperwork and I do sign in on the sign in sheet. EBT review. I had everything into her. Yet I get a letter I was now kicked off EBT as they didnt receive the paperwork. Really? I stood right there and delivered it. I also asked a for a supervisor. A Ms Krantz(?) Left her a ton of messages. No response from her either. Ok so now the front desk tell me to call Mr Mincinski. Same old crap. Mind you I have a attorney and Advoms working my my case. They cant get in touch with anyone either. Email, regular mail or the phone now for 6 weeks. I have had Ms Kahill, Ms R Black and Ms Glenn as case workers in only a matter of three weeks. Seriously?? WTF! Now they dont consider Multiple Sclerosis a disability ?? Since when? They treat the poor, mentally and physically people like crap. I sent a letter via email to dhsweb@michigan.gov They are suppose to handle all DHS and the case workers complaints for us clients. I just sent mine off. With hopes of getting some results finally. What I have come to conclude is that all of us "cleints: are much more highly educated than the DHS case workers. I graduated from high school. I have four years of college. I also attended a trade school for two years. I had my own business for over ten years. Till I was knocked down with MS. They treat everyone with disrespect!!! I have sat across the desk from many a DHS case worker and OMG. They totally lack the compassion and the know how to do the job they are doing. I sat in the waiting room just the other day. I sat there for three hours after signing in for my scheduled appointment. Finally a front desk person called me up. To tell me that my worker was out sick for the day. Ok.,, arghhh it took three hours to tell me this. However, when I walked to the parking lot. I get a phone call from a unknown number. I pick up anyway. ITS MY CASE WORKER!!! Stating that she dosent need to talk to me person to person that a phone interview is good enough for what she needs. Takes me 30 min to get there, then three hours of sitting. Being lied to that she was out sick, then I get a call from here. I ask to go back into the office to speak to her. Im told she dosent have time as she has another meeting to attend to. I tell her I signed in and let my paperwork for her. A week later.,, I get a letter that I didnt show up. OMG! I hope someday, which is probably not right of me to say. Here goes anyway, I pray that someday they will also fall on hardship and that they have to stand in line to deal with their case worker. Karma,, God whatever u want to call it. We reap what we give in this lifetime back.

    • christie

      Have you ever looked into their eyes when they interview you? There is nothing there, blank, empty like a person without a soul.

  • nicole

    well i am done with the WARREN DHS OFFICE ON VAN D**E ROAD, MRS S. KINCAID IS THE MOST RACIST, RUDE AND ON NICE PERSON YOU WILL EVER MEET SHE TREAT YOU LIKE YOU ARE S**T ON HER SHOE. i’ve called for month no call back, have went above her, and even tried calling lansing mi, NO HELP.. she is at fault for my food case being closed but she not going to take the blame.if she would return a call it could be over and done with ugh!!! she has information wrong in the system which is her fault. IF ANY OF YOU HAVE HER AS A CASEWORKER I FEEEL SORRY FOR YOU…( Mrs S. Kincaid) warren office if you get ask for a new caseworker.

    • Dee Dee

      I go to the same office. Ms Kahill, Ms R Black, Ms Glenn are just as bad. Been through all three of them in less than two months. Plus if u try to reach Ms Krantz or Mr Mincinski the supervisors they do not respond either. On the day of my phone interview. I was sitting right there in the DHS office waiting for my case worker to call as the paperwork stated on that day and time. I got no call. I went up to the front desk and demanded to talk to someone. I went over to the sign in sheet and wrote my complaint down. The front girls also sent my case worker a email. This was my second time around trying to clear up my EBT. First time a few days ago. I was told she as sick after sitting for three hours. Eventho as I was in the parking lot she actually called me. She in her own words told me she just didnt have the time for me as she was running late for a meeting. Seriously? Im sure all the offices are bad. Maybe its time Obama hires more employees for the state to get the job done. Everyone is frustrated for the lack of case workers compassion and lack of performing their jobs.

  • Mandy

    I am sooo tired of fighting with my caseworker. Every six months I receive paperwork stating my food benefits are getting cancelled due to not turning in the paperwork. I fax them from work twice and they say they do not have it and I have proof. I am working a full time job not making much, I am a full time student working on my Master degree with two children from a previous relationship. I am not lazy, I do work and pay my taxes. Last time I went through this I had to go over the county’s head and fight this plus send proof that I sent the paperwork. They got right on it and my caseworker FINALLY called back to apologize. Well here we go again. Same d**n letter… I finally reached her she said "oh yes, I got your paperwork, disregard the cancellation notice I am taking care of it." Well once again nothing is done and she didn’t take care. Of course no answer, no response and her supervisor isn’t calling back as well. I cannot afford to miss work to go down there. This is in the Genesee County area and these people should be ashamed of themselves because I am no mooch like most people and I need a little help feeding my kids. Oh they sure do not mind taking out of my child support when I get that… I need help!!!

    • HG Bald

      Why do these people act like the money is coming from their pockets? You are asking only for the help that you are entitled to- I pray you did get everything straightened out. Keep on KEEPIN ON that Master’s Degree girl and one day this woman may end up in your office asking you for something! Tee Hee Hee

      • Andrea505

        As a person also in need of assistance at the moment, please refrain from using the term “entitled.” Truthfully speaking, assistance is not an “entitlement” for any of us. It is a service, a program and/or a “conditional” benefit to which our government has “decided” to allow to help those in need. At no time has it “ever” been an “entitlement.” This is precisely the type of language that allows the right-wingers to point their fingers at anyone in need o assistance and state how we think we are “owed” something. I understand it may have simply been a bad choice of word in a heated discussion (believe me, I get it as I too am in a bad situation myself at the moment) but let’s all be careful not to give “them” any more ammunition to use against us as they try to take away the “very limited” safety net currently in place. I don’t even want to think about what it would be like if it were even worse!

    • Murphys Happycockers

      Keep your head up! Many Blessings to you! I sure feel your frustration! I wish I had more to offer you but advice:( take it from an old lady who knows, if you don’t do another single thing major in your children’s lives but to stand tall, stick it out and finish school, show them you can! You did! You will ! Because it’s for THIS reason you are proving that some day THEY CAN too!!! You are giving those kids the best gift a mother can! Take care and know your children are watching! :-)

  • FEDUP

    Mid Michigan DHS never even called for my phone interview. I called her that day during the time she should have been talking to me and never returned my phone call. Have called every day since then and still no response. Meanwhile, my family has no food. I have done everything they have asked. I called to get ahold of the office, and they are completely rude to me stating "well they have 48 hours to call you back." Well I just told you I first started calling over 2 weeks ago! They just ignore what I am saying and give me another phone number to call, which of course no one answers or calls back. Meanwhile, students on college campuses receive food stamps, which most of the time they just sell to get money. Not speculation, I’ve seen it several times. How on earth are any of these people considered Human Service workers?!?!? Unfortunately, this isn’t even the first time I’ve had these issues. I personally can’t even be included in my family size because I refuse to sue my ex for child support when we split everything completely 50/50. The person flat out told me, "We aren’t going to qualify you for food stamps since you don’t have your case of child support in our system. The rest of your family can, but we don’t get money for your child support case so you can’t receive any benefits." Okay so I am better off suing my ex for child support and causing all sorts of drama? We both are trying to better our lives and get ahead as much as we can, and we have managed to keep everything civil, and DHS wants me to cause drama and potentially send him to jail because he doesn’t have any money to pay child support just like I don’t? I don’t get it…I can’t wait till I can finally be away from all this mess….

  • NoMoreExcuses

    It has nothing to do with Race not at all so please stop with that. They do this to everyone and anyone they can. Period. They never answer the phone, nor respond in email. You cant ever make an appointment because everyone is upset that they have to work there. Oh and not to mention they always lose you paper work prolonging the process months and months until you give up. I submitted my employment verification 10 times. I have contacted Managers and more hireups but nothing works. Its like winning the lottery you could get help but its a 1,000,000 chance.

    • cathy

      Bull s**t. Race is certainly a factor if your white and live in saginaw county and mrs clark is your worker. She did not call me when schedules to or answer my calls but I surely received a letter stating that I missed my phone interview. And when I went directly to the dhs office and waited over an hour for her the first words out of her mouth were “oh your white”. She is a complete moron. When I mentioned the fact that I had tried to call her repeatedly, after she neglected to call me at the time SHE scheduled she said ” I was on vacation”. Really…then how did I miss your phone call if you weren’t even here to make it. Her recording even stated this.

  • Jason Kent

    racist…racist….racist….racist do I need to say it again… if your white they try to **** you over and give you the run around…. I’m dealing with Sprat & Cooper @ the Inkster office wont return pone calls.. called both 20 or more times!!! every time I apply I am denied do to ” I make to much money” and I don’t have a job… so idk how that is possible.. they say I need a letter stating that I’m unemployed … umm..who the **** do I get that from .. my no existent boss??? ******* **** r****d racist…ill tell you this… I wont be out of work for long and guess what.. when I’m in a position of power aka able to hire and fire.. guess who’s not getting hired.. 2 can play @ this game

    • Mandy

      Jason,

      I absolutely have to agree with that.. I get assistance in the genesee county area and I swear they fu** with my case every review. The flint area has a majority of black families and it seems they always telling me how they get like 600 a month for food, cash assistance, rent paid and dont have to work. Here I am working and trying to make ends meet after a divorce with children, fighting for 300 a month for food. Serious problems here…I told my racist caseworker, what am I the wrong color…

    • Kay M

      How does having to prove your unemployed make them racist? Try doing to you part for your hand out. Have you ever had a job? If you’ve never had a job then you shouldn’t be lisiting any income on your app. Furthermore, they (DHS workers) can check with the dept of labor to see if your currently working or not. Request a hearing. That usually gets them up and running.As for the latter part of your comment. You’ll be out of business in no time.

  • couple + baby

    Department in downtown Flint, Michigan… Ongoing problems with caseworker, she does not answer her phone, and does not return repeat requests to call back. The last time we heard from her was in March, during a scheduled phone interview, where she was given all requested information to review our case. We never heard from her again, and found out our case was closed when we tried to buy food and our card was rejected. We paid a visit to the downtown flint office where we were told "your worker did not complete your case, we dont know why". The person that told us this, had us reapply, using the computer at their office. She helped us with the online form, we told her we needed expidited food benefits which gives you a decision within 7 days. She told us we would likely have a reply within 3 to 5 days.. that was 30 days ago and we still have no decision, and our calls go unanswered. If she deliberately pushed us past the section to get expidited food benefits, then by law they are supposed to give a decision within 30 days, and they have not. The workers that are failing their clients (I believe some are deliberate) should be fired. Some of us that are having a hard time making it would gladly take their positions, even with the knowledge of the stress related to the job. If you can’t handle it, move on over and let someone else.

    • HGBald

      I feel your pain. I pray your family received the assistance you need.
      What if every person did their job like these people?? The surgeon forgets to sew you up? The mechanic forgets to put the screws back on your motor? The cook that forgets to turn on the oven? Hello Social WOrkers- you are there to work socially and serve humans!!! The excuse is they are SO busy- so is the rest of the world- there is no excuse.

  • Mary

    DhS in Redford is the worst of the worst. My lawyer told me that they are the most hated workers of all the offices. I’m not trying to play the white card here….but they HATE whites !!!!! Yhe guy sitting next to me said if you pay them 300 to 400 (like if I have a penny to spare) tht they would except it as a pay off and make sure some of your benefits go through ….such as food stamps. The more you pay the more you get. Then these caseworkers pocket the money. It ‘s true. Remember Kwame ????? These caseworkers are no different them him. They have know conceince. They sleep well at night. Plus the lies….lies after lis. They never once picl -up their phone. L. Williams, MissParham are a team. They hate us. And since L. Williams is a nee employee ….he kissies her Parham ****. It PATHETIC !!!KARMA !!!!!!

  • Have Had It with MI DHS

    I’m fed up and tired of the misappropriation of requesting help with assistance at the WALLED LAKE, DHS OFFICE, MAINLY A CASEWORKER NAMED S COXTON and HER SUPERVISOR KEEN. They do not call you back, but most importantly, they don’t process your submitted paperwork for timely benefits. They also manipulate the State Website where you apply for benefits. So ALL beware, there is REAL DISCRIMINATION going on at the WALLED LAKE DHS OFFICE.

    • Kate

      Had a similar experience just today. They say a large percentage of the population is on food assistance. How is that possible?
      You can qualify but actually getting it is a whole different story.

    • tired of all the crap

      I so agree with you, I have been trying to contact my case worker ad her supervisor since February and I get the same thing, no contact back, as well as my case worker from a different program has been trying also which is also through the state and they wont even contact them back, walled lake is nasty, when you go in and complain all they say is contact your case worker.

  • disgustedandtired

    well,I have the same problem and filing a complaint,does nothing. My husband is disabled and in person they all agree but on paper, DHS and SSI say "he is disabled but with limitations and if he should acquire a job he will not be able to keep it" we are a family of 7( 2 adults+ 5 kids) but they don’t care.They have continuously lost his paperwork and recently his entire file along with mines and denied him saying the paper work was never turned in and when I finally talked to some one they say" we are here to remove barriers, but we have no idea how to help you without you receiving cash asst. that you are not eligible for: okay, is it just me or wouldn’t it help the ones without cash asst. more then the ones sitting on the cash you are giving them…They are the barriers and when my family is out in the cold instead of trying to help us, they will do all they can to separate my children from us, just so there can add to their pay checks

    • Rebecca LaVell

      Not sure if you managed to get any help or not. But, I have never even met my case worker. I have to to everything on line. I uploaded all the needed information that they asked for and or needed. At least this is how they are doing it now. the case workers get assigned but I mean literally Everything is done on line. I do understand the circumstance you were in as I too am disabled and my husband works construction here in Michigan, therefore constantly being laid off.

  • granlund

    I feel the same way…I cannot get ahold of anyone…I work part time taking care of severely disabled adult, can’t find full time work. call, call, call, voicemail, voicemail, voicemail !!! can’t even get to an operator. I just want to talk to my worker..give me a denial letter then so someone else can HELP me! Pontiac office is terrible. I have left message after message, I need to talk to someone, just put a hold on my electric bill and give me a denial letter. Fill out stuff on line, have no idea were it goes? Make an appointment….yeah right…you can’t get ahold of anyone. I guess dept. of Human RIghts will be next. Can’t afford minutes on my phone to stay on hold and get the run around. You seen the price of things lately. My worker is C. Geason. in Pontiac .

  • exhausted

    My first worker stop my benefits after he said "why don’t you go back to your country" by the way, im an american, born in america, with american parents!!! FYI, technically this is my country!

    Second worker, she decided to make my life miserable by sending me to a PATH program when I am enrolled in a training program already with MVRS, I have physical limitations, my kids both have special needs & I have another adult in the house 100% disable & blind.

    She also decided to reduce my family cash assistance way below of what I receive in child support???

    Can’t handle the pressure anymore, the stress they cause, the discrimination & the lack of compassion…Then I hear people ask why there’s others that go crazy & do crazy stuff in the news??? well, this is why!!!

  • sam

    This is unreal dealing with these workers. Honestly they care less if we sleep under a bridge or on a bed, as long as they get paid their checks. I have been calling them for 2 months now and they return my calls with no urgency what so ever. My card has been on 0 for a month with o explanation on why.

  • M Baughman

    I also am going through the same thing. I am a single mom of 2 teenagers and I work full time taking care of disabled adults. I returned my 6 month review the day after I received it for food benefits and that was in November here it is February and I have not received anything since december 7th. I call J. Munoz my worker everyday and her supervisor Mr. Moon and never get a return call. When I go to the office they tell me I need an appointment but how is that possible if I can’t reach anyone by phone. I think this system is set up like this on purpose to save the state money. I am so frustrated with all this and at my wits end.

  • Disgusted

    Apparently DHS workers do not fear any consequences for shamelessly neglecting their duties. They routinely ignore people desperately seeking assistance. When did people who require help for their children become so unimportant to the very people being paid to provide assistance? Without the people standing in line and on hold on the phone, state employees would be unemployed themselves! When justice finally prevails you may find yourselves in need of assistance, and then you might finally understand why treating people with a little kindness and good manners is so important. Haven’t you "professionals" ever heard of the Golden Rule???

    • couple + baby

      Apparently the case workers are running the entire program now, as if the decisions made for client request depend on thier mood, or, whether or not they take a personal liking to you. They seem to think they are above the laws implemented by the state.

    • Murphys Happycockers

      My motto is and hasalways been ” be good to everyone because you never know who you may have to work for”!!!

  • dee

    apparently they need a new system for returning calls. everytime i try to call (and i have 5 numbers) that everyone said was my sons case worker. every line was busy. there has got to be a better way! it isnt right nor fair. last year the case worker told my son he needed an appointment and you cant even get through to make that appointment very frausturating.
    dhs in redford. plymouth & inkster.

  • P. Potter

    My daughter has called and gone down to the fia office i couldnt tell you how many times since thanksgiving… her worker, nor the supervisors will anwser or return her calls… she hasnt received anything in 2 months with 4 kids, she works but does not make enough to maintain a home with all the bills, gas for work and food.. it is sad to me that i pay taxes and do what i can, while my child has to beg for help ,,, the past 2 times her worker has been on "vacation".. when she has gone there before work to see her. and was told there was nothing they could do.. My Daugter has also taken all her paperwork to fia 3 times in 8 weeks and to her surprise"Her Paperwork has gotten lost AGAIN.."3 times really;;; I hope Ms singleton sleeps well at night knowing that there are people with no food on thier tables while she enjoys a vacation and holidays full of foods a plenty,,

  • ExhaustedGuest

    Our family (of three) filed for Food assistance and Medicaid. We call the food stamp hotline where they take ALL your information/bills/etc. and tell you what you should qualify for. Then, I also did two different food stamp calculators online where you enter all the information yourself. Each and every one of the calculators said my family should qualify for anywhere from $380-$520 per month food assistance. Well, guess what, the worker we got said we don’t qualify! I’m forced for file an appeal now while we have NO food in the house at all! We have NEVER received assistance before and are in our 40’s. Illness & disability struck our family and now we are in need of help but this heartless worker was awful to us for NO reason. This is not fair at all!

    • hdbald

      I am praying to God you get the food and help you need. The people on the hotline are wonderful and give you hope and then the local people run you in a frenzied circle, spit on you and walk away??? There is a number you can dial from your phone- 211. I am not sure how helpful they are but it’s worth a try?
      I did the same thing with the hotline and calculator’s/ Got the same result from local DHS- ZILCH
      Bless you and your family

  • Brianna Taylor

    OMG I have been trying to call mrs alberta frazier for four months concerning medicaid for my infant child and i gets no reply or from the damnn supervisor

    • abby

      Maybe we need to go to the news and ask them do an investigation report on dhs workers

      • heidi g Bald

        Love this idea!!!!

        • Murphys Happycockers

          Does anyone know if DHS workers are required to be licensed or bonded?

Close

Follow Us To Receive Complaint Alerts

Get Complaint Alert Emails